User Tools

Site Tools


Command disabled: media
en:shutdown_your_computer

Denna sida på svenska

Shutdown Your Computer

Background

When you are done working with your computer and is ready to go home, you should always log out or completely shutdown your computer. The difference between logging out and shutting down is that when the computer is shutdown it does not use any power but the effect is the same as logging out.

By logging out or shutting down your computer you make the following possible:

  • Your files are synchronised with the server and a nighttime backup is possible.
  • Updates can be installed at shutdown and/or startup.
  • LTH Support can log on and fix issues when you are not present.

If you choose to lock your computer none of the above is possible. This is why we (LTH Support) ask you to log out or shutdown your computer when you leave for the day.

How To

Select the start-menu and click the power-symbol and select “Shut Down”.

Important!

Sometimes you are offered the choice of “Update and shutdown”. This will happen when the computer have important updates to install. This option is recommended. If you have been offered this you should select it, you wont have to do anything else, the computer will shutdown when its done.

en/shutdown_your_computer.txt · Last modified: 2017-09-18 12:31 by cr